Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phone. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many students in modern world has their mobile phones with them during school time. While some schools have restricted these devices in class, other schools do not have any restrictions related to it. In this essay we are going to introduce the positive outcomes of restricting phones in schools and these are improving learning, health and social connection.

Restricting phone use in the classroom itself can improve learning. Using these devices in the classroom can cause distractions to both the student and the teacher, so what this means is that less attention is going to be provided during the class time. For example, many people nowadays have an urge to check their social media applications and students are not far from the same trend. So, if we imagine one message that is sent from one student to a friend, such a message will be sent through out the whole class which is going to cause distraction to the class. Not only this is going to effect the teacher ability to keep the attention span of the student for a longer time, but also it is going to affect all students of the class grades, if not their entire future. Finally, with the distractions that can be created, the reduced attention span of students and the inability of teachers to control all students from not checking their updates on phones, not to mention the great impact on the academic progress and grades of students, restricting mobiles in classroom is essential for a higher quality learning.

Not only phones have negative impacts during class time, but also it does create bad habits at the time of lunch breaks. The increase use of electronic devices at school breaks wastes the time students should use for more crucial activities like communication linking with other friends and having physical activities like playing basketball. For example, recent studies shows that having less activities for students due to mobile phone use in break time has increased the percentage of obese students even more. Such a percentage is very near to the sugary sodas that are also allowed for students to consume. The impacts of such bad habits are creating a more social distant and lazy community that people nowadays are paying money to be treated out of it. Explaining the health and social concerns and effects on students, having a more strict policies that bans phones from schools do help in creating a healthier society.

In conclusion, electronic devices banning from schools is quite the subject of parents and school administers in the recent days. In my opinion, banning phones from schools has many benefits, because it creates a more focus on learning environment for both students and teachers, and it creates a more balanced generation of community that has more communication and diet sense.