Learning a foreign language at primary school is highly encouraged in some nations. This essay will illustrate the merits and drawbacks of studying a different language in addition to the native language.

The are compelling reasons to be acquainted with a foreign language. A person will have an understanding of another culture and traditions in addition to reading, writing and speaking. Moreover, knowing another language might be helpful while travelling and holidaying. For instance, acquaintance of spoken and written French will be frail beneficial in navigating Montreal, western Switzerland, Monaco, and other places. Furthermore, there can be enormous employment opportunities as well. For example, Arabic to English translators are in high demand dir to the evermore complex geopolitical situation in the Middle East. Therefore, it is imperative for children to learn a different language at primary school.

Ot he other hand, m there are cons of studying a foreign language. The main disadvantage is the extra time needed to gain expertise in the linguistic capabilities. As they sau, time is money. Another drawback is the exorbitant price of a private tutor who might be of utmost importance to provide guidance. For instance, a Spanish teacher’s hourly rate can be upwards of 30 dollars an hour. Finally, knowing a foreign language cam be futile if one will not travel to a place where this particular language is in use. Consequently, children at primary schools might be impeded in learning another important subject such as IT or religious studies.

In conclusion, the benefits of studying a foreign language outweigh the drawbacks. Children will grow up to be sophisticated; being bilingual will be helpful abroad; and they can have more employment options in the future.