In recent times, juvenile crimes are being reported at an alarming rate in almost all the countries. Although some people are of the opinion that criminals should be judged irrespective of their age, I disagree with this view. In my opinion, it is very illogical to give the same punishments to adults and teenagers as the latter are mostly unaware and immature to understand the consequence of their action.

To begin with, there are a number of reasons why criminal’s age should be considered while prosecution. This is because children do not have the same intellectual capabilities compared to an adult, which makes them incompetent to comprehend the repercussion of their actions. For instance, a study published in the New York Magazine reported that majority of the juvenile delinquent did not have the slightest idea regarding the rules they had broken. Since they were unaware of the rules and regulation, it would be unwise to judge them on the same ground as adults. If they are given the harshest punishment despite not knowing the code of laws, it will deprive them of the opportunity to realize their mistakes and reform themselves.

Moreover, adolescence is a psychological turmoil for the teenagers. Due to hormonal imbalance, their mental state is constantly changing, which can be used as an advantage by some miscreants to influence them into committing reckless activities. To make matters worse, when adolescents stay in the jail with adult criminals as part of serving their sentences, this usually removes their slightest chance of returning back to normal life. Furthermore, children’s mind and character can be easily shaped compared to an adult. Therefore, instead of sentencing them to rigorous punishments, it is better to make them go through rehabilitation and behavioral therapies. Finally, teenagers are our nation’s asset, and thus, judging their mistakes without sentiments would have a devastating effect on the country’s progression.

To conclude, I think that the idea of serving teenager same punishment as adult is totally preposterous. Their innocence and immaturity as well as the beneficial effect of rehabilitation and counseling to their mind should be taken into consideration during their legal proceedings.