Some teachers are responsible for social and intellectual development of students than parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a general believe that the responsibility of developing the young adults, socially and intellectually, rests more on the teachers than parents. Though everyone has a part to play in bringing out the best from the young kids; I therefore disagree and state that parents have a greater role the teachers to instilling discipline and maturity in the social lives of their wards.

Firstly, it is important to state that the home is the first school of a child. When a man becomes a father, he attains not just a change in status but an added responsibility to be accountable to his new born offspring. As the child grows in the home, he is vested with the task of providing a conducive atmosphere for nurturing his child. For example, the father at home, likewise the mother, monitors the peers and playmate of his child. He makes sure that right choices are made at this level; because he knows that peer-pressure has a lot of influence on them at that tender age. Consequently, due to the bond of attachment of parents to their children, from birth, they easily yield to the advice and chastening from their guardians.

Secondly, the grooming of young ones, even as they choose their career path and make progress intellectually is greatly attributed to their parents choices. For example, a child that is brought up by a father who is a Medical Doctor; and also, having an academician as a Mother will have a strict and developed background. Children learn easily from role models; and more so, examples from their parents. Therefore a child fostered in this type of home, most likely, will want to toll the path of his studious father and research - inclined mother. Overtime this physical and practical demonstration, albeit intellectually - prone, will guide and lead a cause for the offspring to form an early career decision. Thus, a decision that would have been, directly or indirectly, influenced by the parents.

In conclusion, the contribution to the development and growth of young adults to level up socially and in their intellect has been partly played by caregivers be it in school or at home. However, more accountability to this task lies more on fathers and mothers as they are the first point of call, point of contact and reference to these young ones; also, are more influential to the wholesome well being and life choices they end up with.