School teachers are more responsible for the social and intellectual development of students than parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is often a divergent opinion on whether school teachers or parents ought to be responsible for the social and intellectual progress of pupils. I believe this is true as students spend the most productive part of their time and formative years with their school teachers.

To begin with, children are at a very impressionable age in school and whatever their teachers tell them is the final word for them. They generally do not question teachers and follow them. For example, I owe all my social skills and intellectual advancement to my school teachers and still remember their guidance even after decades. Moreover, right from eight in the morning to around two or three in the afternoon when a child is fresh and energetic, is spent with school teachers who can mold them in a positive way towards advancement with various lesson and activities. This process continues right from pre-nursery until senior secondary classes and students are continually under the influence of their teachers who are the most important influencers in the life of children.

On the contrary, few argue that parents are more in control of the growth of intellect and social skills of students vis-a-vis teachers. They opine that parents are the first teachers and what education they impart to their little ones is more lasting and effective. Besides, parents are often an often a role model for their children and tend to emulate their father and mother. Hence, parents must be answerable for the intellectual and social growth of their children.

In conclusion, according to me, while parents do have an influence on the upbringing of children with reference to their social and intellectual growth, the primary responsibility lies with teachers since children spend a larger part of there growing years at school.