Nowadays the importance of teachers is diminishing due to increased availability of alternative sources to students. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

With the proliferation of the internet, laptops, and smartphones, the teaching landscape is rapidly changing. I believe these alternative sources are increasing the importance of teachers since teachers are using these tools to reach a wider audience which was previously inaccessible and these sources have a complementary relationship with the classroom coaching.

Alternative sources for classroom teaching have become tools for teachers to spread knowledge to students living in distant locations. These days, a teacher living in New York can write an article on a blog or make a video on Youtube and a student in Beijing can learn from these sources. Consequently, the alternative sources have increased the importance of teachers. For instance, a large number of students are learning a number of course through websites such as Coursera, Edex, 10 Minutes School and Youtube. These courses are delivered online by teachers at distant locations.

Moreover, alternate sources are not competing with the traditional classroom coaching model. These sources act as tools that help a child understand the concepts taught in the class in a greater detail. Students often consult them to clarify the doubts that lingered after a classroom lecture. For instance, a recent study of grade 10 to 12 students in Bangladesh revealed that more than 60 percent of these students watch Youtube to learn about various concepts taught in the class. Thus, traditional teachers are not facing competition from the alternate sources.

In conclusion, modern sources of learning have offered a new platform to teachers as well as students to improve the quality of education. Traditional teachers are benefiting from these sources and they will continue to use these tools to help students.