Nowadays the importance of teachers is diminishing due to increased availability of alternative sources to students. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

With the advancement of technology, students are gaining instant access to many sources of information. While many people believe these technologies would gradually replace teachers in education, I tend to support the idea that teachers play an indispensable role in delivering knowledge.

On the one hand, there are numerous perks that other sources like the Internet are getting incredibly essential in education. First one is that, in the old times, teachers and books are the only sources of knowledge for students, while today, they can learn anything, anywhere. People may search for information online easily, watch related videos to visualize the relevant ideas and revise the knowledge with an abundance of available apps. Those virtual teachers make learning process ready and available for people without the limit of time and space. Additionally, not only does the internet enable students to access information in a matter of milliseconds, but it also provides the latest applications of the related concepts. The example of returning rockets from SpaceX illustrated vividly a theoretical idea in physics. Unlike obsolete examples in schools, these latest inventions based on basic physics may inspire students in their study.

On the other hand, the role of teachers is irreplaceable due to many reasons. Firstly, despite the surfeit of sources of information and knowledge, its credibility is probably questionable compared to those from experienced teachers. This is because the Internet is an open source that anyone could upload and alter information. Thus, with the guidance of teachers, students would be able to identify worthy sources and avoid fallacious information. Besides, learning from a well-trained instructor would be the shortest route to adopt knowledge. For instance, if students need to utilise different sources to know about things, they normally suffer many trials and errors. However, with the assistance of mentors who have experienced those before, students may prevent squandering their time and efforts to achieve success in the shortest time.

In conclusion, while alternative sources of information have become prevalent and they offer tremendous benefits in education, I believe the role teachers remain the most crucial in guiding and assisting students.