In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land; therefore they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In these recent years, oceanic life, as well as other animals are in danger due to the heavy usage of plastic bags in the modern countries. Therefore, it is necessary to ban the usage of plastic bags in the daily usage activities. In this, we will discuss the effects of plastic usage and methods to minimize the usage of the plastic.

Firstly, due to the industrial revolution, usage of plastic has become inevitable for different reasons like wrapping, packaging and so on. Especially, Plastic bags got popularity due to its low cost compared to the other biodegradable or reusable materials. This economical difference had a huge impact on the overall usage of the plastic bags in the present scenario. Due to this significant usage, the remnants of plastics are collected in oceans and wastelands that leads to the pollution of water and air. For example, according to the report of National Geographical channel, the pollution in the Hindu pacific ocean is due to the accumulation of the plastics in the ocean. This waste is dumped by the passenger ships and transport ships.

Secondly, the plastic material which is accumulated is not degradable by the environment. This accumulation leads to the decrease in the aquatic life and other living organisms. The aquatic life like fish, penguins, dolphins and other animals consumes this plastic material by thinking of food materials. After ingestion of the plastic, they are unable to digest the swallowed, subsequently leads to the death of the animals. According to the report of World Oceanic life studies, 60% of the death of aquatic life is due to the presence of plastic materials in the oceans and land.

Thirdly, there are many unequivocal and ubiquitous examples for these plastic product as these do not decay with time. Upon burning, these cause some peril danger which cause cancer with damaging of respiratory system. Scientist has not discovered any enzyme which can recycle these plastic materials. If it is intake into any living species, it could choke respiratory tubes. For example, due to this we have bad air quality and ocean water is also opaqued to higher extent.

In recapitulate, while there are strong lucid evidences, in my personal view we should stop this plastic involvement in wrapping or packaging. I would strongly recommend that regime must campaign bad influence of plastic which exits in our environment and should collect on priority basis from all dustbin debris.