Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. What are the problems caused by this issue? What can be done to solve this issue?

Lately few of the younger generations are migrating to urban areas, and leaving the old age people in countryside. In this essay we shall discuss how this can effect development in rural areas and look at few possible approaches governments can take to resolve them.

On the one hand, as young people move to live in cities the town’s development reduces. Firstly, in terms of infrastructure if taken the example of construction, all these jobs require some physical strength which the older generation lack. Therefore, there are only few of the younger population present in rural areas to work in construction or production sites, because of this it makes infrastructure development impossible. For example, in India the ministry of rural development conducted a survey in few states like Andhra Pradesh and Telanagana and found that more than 12 % of the towns lack the basic amenities like schools and hospitals and community centers. The survey reported that only 3 percent of the population was younger age population rest of 97 % being older generations. It quoted ‘there were jobs in construction, production but no graduates to take those jobs”.

The reason most of the fresh graduates opt to live in cities because of better income and carrier opportunities. As this happens, there are only few young energetic prospects and more of old age individuals left in village side. In my perspective, one viable solution to tackle this problem is by intervention of government. Governments by conducting recruitment drives in targeted rural areas where development is lacking. Hire young graduates and pay them more than what huge corporations pay. Offer them free healthcare and pension plans. By doing so, it would motivate students to stay back rural work towards the betterment of their villages. For example, government of Telanagana has conducted a recruitment drive in two rural towns in Karimnagar and employed more than 500 fresh college graduates paying them higher salaries and free healthcare for working in rural areas.

In conclusion, most of the migration of fresh graduates to cities is for their personal comfort like more income and more benefits. This causes to leave most of village side left with old age. Governments by giving added benefits to work in rural would endeavor many students to work and develop the fading rural towns.