In some developing countries, it is difficult to get good teachers to work in rural areas which can have a negative impact on the education of children in those rural communities.

Why do you think good teachers do not want to work in rural areas in developing countries? What could be done to solve the problem?

In progressing nations, it has become a significant problem to find teaching professionals who would work in rural regions. This has had detrimental effects, on the educational standards of rural children. In this essay we shall discuss the probable cause for that, which is lack of decent amenities in these areas. Moreover, one effective solution for this is providing teachers higher salary.

One major concern for working population among teachers is lack of good infrastructure. Firstly, rural areas have limited access and limited number of hospitals. In terms of healthcare these hospitals lack the optimal care, for this reason people choose to stay urban rather than rural. Secondly, mostly in working environment after a stressful day people seek leisure and fun after working hours. Furthermore, rural areas have very few recreational centers and luxury restaurants which makes social life limited. As a result, in taking consideration all the above factors teachers are less reluctant to work in rural communities.

One viable solution for this problem is providing teachers higher compensation in salary and rewarding benefits from government. By doing so, teachers working in urban areas when given higher salaries and benefits from government like free healthcare and life term pension plans. They will be more inclined to work in rural counties despite the adjusting lifestyle. To illustrate, the government of Canada has taken measures such as giving higher salaries and life term pension plans to teachers working in rural areas. This has significantly increased teachers participation to work in rural areas.

To conclude, growing concerns about finding teaching professionals in rural communities can be tackled by higher salary compensation and with government intervention by awarding them free healthcare and pension plans. This would be a driving factor for teachers to work rural and improve education in small scale counties.