Agriculture Industry is the backbone of economy of may countries across the globe and it is true to the large extent. Although, there are may substantial improvement in agriculture productivity, many pockets of the world still suffers shortage of food supply especially developing countries. This essay will elaborate the cause and possible solution to improve global supply chain management for food.

One of the main reason for scarcity of the food is deficiency in government policies like higher export/import tariff and duties which makes it unviable for farmer to export food to other country in-spite of glut in the market. This results into foods, grains going off due to lower shelf life. Moreover, developed countries to protect interest of their own farmers allows more subsidy which provides disincentive to developing world where government can't sustain huge subsidy bills. Even if, government agencies provide foods at subsidies rate, but due to poor infrastructure and lack of connectivity has resulted into food damage before reaching it to the poor people. Although, now a days, benefits of using advanced , mortised equipment, effective irrigation system are off set by vagaries of nature like heavy rain, hurricane, drought, erratic rain pattern due to global worming which damages the standing crops. It puts extra burden on government coffer.

To overcome these challenges government and world trade organisation (WTO) should work jointly on global supply chain. Developed countries should not waste the food and make people educate about the importance of food. Government should not impose high duties on imports to protect inefficiencies of domestic market. Like India had imposed high import duty on dairy products which were imported from Newzeland at low cost. Over and above, government should augment food storage capacity and improve method of storage for long shelf life of the food. This will help underdeveloped to countries to prepare themselves to protect and fight against the scarcity in the unforeseen events. Sustained supply due to these measures will eradicate malnutrition issues among the many developing countries.

To recapitulate, there are many small and effective initiative aforementioned will help many countries particularity developing and developed in general to reach a stage where country can claim self-sufficiency as far as food is concern.