Sport is one of the most popular draws on television today. Some people argue that the practice of showing sport on television is to blame for the poor health of the young generation by encouraging them to watch rather than partake in physical activity.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is true that sport has become one of the most entertaining television shows these days. A group of people believe that these sports shows have negative effects on the young people, as they prefer to watch those games on television rather than exercising. To a certain point, I would agree with the statement, but I also believe that it depends on the personality of each individual.

On the one hand, it is a fact that the number of sports channels has increased rapidly in the past recent years. Cable channels such as ESPN, Ten Sports, Star Sports, Fox Sports and ASN are showing 24 hours of attractive sports games all around the world. As a consequence, many young people are staying in front of the television for a number of hours just to watch these games. The condition gets worst as they are also consuming unhealthy food such as popcorn, candies and soda when they watch the shows. Therefore, a lot of people believe that these channels have been the main cause of bad health condition of young generation nowadays.

On the other hand, these sports programs should not be blamed as the only reason for the bad health conditions among the youngsters, as there are other factors which affect the health of the young people. Firstly, many parents do not teach their children about the healthy lifestyle. They are letting their children watch television for a number of hours and eating junk foods which would have a negative effect on the children. Secondly, it really depends on the personality of each individual. Some young people understand about the bad effect of watching television for such a long hours, but others just do not care about it. Therefore, sports channels would only be one of the factors that affect the health condition of the young people.

In conclusion, to a certain extent, I would agree that sports programs might have some negative effects on the health condition of the young people. As these channels show entertaining games continuously, many teenagers spend more time in watching the shows rather than exercising. However, I also believe that sports shows would only be one of the factors because the disciplinary attitude of the individual and the way parents educate their children would also affect the health condition of the youth.