Sport is one of the most popular draws on television today. Some people argue that the practice of showing sport on television is to blame for the poor health of the young generation by encouraging them to watch rather than take part in physical activity.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

People are inclined towards watching Sports Channels on Television these days. Miserable health conditions of some children are blamed on aired sports channels on Television which only motivates them to watch those sports activities, in comparison to pursue the same competitive game in their real life. I support the given notion to some extent, however; it is the personality of those children to be blamed as well which is also responsible for their screen-glued nature.

To embark on, the increasing eminence of sports channels such as ESPN, Star World etcetera among the young generation lead them to watch for a longer duration of time. They spend much of their schedule’s time viewing those sports shows and fail to realise their terrible health conditions; dull and lazy.. Moreover, they do not indulge in eating healthy food as they prefer to restrict themselves from cooking while watching those sports shows and even ordering unhealthy food online which in return deteriorate their health as well. Resultantly, the airing of such sports shows is undoubtedly to be taken into consideration for the ill health of the youth.

Nevertheless, only tv channels can not be solely blamed for such indulgence of young people as the implying personality of an individual should be taken into account at the same time. This is because there are some people in youth who realise the importance of their health and therefore get involved in participating in sports activities by themselves. They do not acquire any advice from anyone to restrict their time while watching those sports channels, they refrain from it themselves, but there are others who do not care about it. Consequently, it is the individual’s personality traits which differentiate them in choosing to be glued to the Television screens or not.

To conclude, although the declining health conditions of the young generation is held responsible due to watching sports channels for excessive hours, it is the demeanor of some people which should be kept in mind as well as it guides them what to prefer and avoid for their own betterment.