Students in many countries leave high school without understanding of how to manage their money. What are reasons for this? What can be done?

Nowadays, a majority of students do not have the ability to control their finance after graduating from high school. There are several reasons for this tendency. However, a few solutions can be considered to address this matter.

To begin with, students are unable to manage their money for some reasons. The first reason is that most schools do not pay much attention to giving the students fundamental financial skills. Without fully understanding of how to calculate the money flow, students tend to purchase merchandises without any noticing about the remaining balance in their credit cards or simply checking the pocket beforehand. The second reason to mention is that most under age individuals nowadays are extremely relying on their parents in term of finance. Thus, many people lack essential skills including budget managing after leaving high school and separating from their parents for colleges.

Fortunately, steps can be taken to tackle the aforementioned problems. Firstly, financial lessons should be implemented in schools’ curriculum and focused for seriously. With these courses provided during high school, young individuals can have the very first and basic impression of how to manage their own budget. Secondly, parents should reduce the amount of money they casually give their children to the point where no financial support is available after their kids’ graduation. As a result, students will value the importance of saving money for their future needs.

In conclusion, while high schools and parents are the two main factors that lead to the students’ bad budget management, there are several solutions can be taken simultaneously deal with these problems.