There are many female students who finish degrees in science and technology courses at university, but few move into the workplace after they graduate. Why is this? What measures can be taken to encourage them into work?

Girls always have been higher contributors in the topper students of any educational stream, compared to the boys. Even after pursuing higher education, many of them don not choose to pursue their career goals. There are various reasons for girls not opting to take the jobs.This essay will discuss the problems associated for girls not being motivated and suggest some solution to ensure females are empowered to join the workforce.

To begin with, there are variety of reasons that women do not choose to start their dream jobs after completing their studies. One of the most important reasons that restricts them to work is familial responsibilities they are tied up with. For instance, in India there is a culture of getting girls married after they complete their education. As a result, girls get busy taking up their familial life as first priority. In addition, work flexibility also restrict them from beginning their career goals. Now a days, Information technology jobs have also become demanding in terms of working hours and they expect the employees to stretch themselves to deliver the results within deadline. The hesitation of not being able to as competent as their male counterparts, sometimes females opt not to continue their job. Thus, these restrictions makes girls change their goals of doing job of their own choices.

On the other hand , however, these issues can be tackled by applying some solutions to them. Creating awareness in females and the society is essential step. Firstly, Universities themselves needs to take initiatives to make internship part of the syllabus pattern. This will enable the girls to get attracted towards the job type they would like to choose. Secondly, seminars should be arranged by colleges for girl students, where successful female entrepreneurs can inspire the girls to take interest in doing jobs post completing education. Additionally, government should encourage the companies to hire female employees by giving them work from home option and against that give some consideration in taxes to the companies.

To conclude, there are various reasons for the females to not to choose career post their education. However, giving them the freedom and empowering them will definitely change this in making them career oriented.