There have been many technological developments in the 20th century, for example in transport, telecommunications and health. What technological development do you think has been the most important? How has it changed people's lives? Have all the changes been positive?

As the 20th century has been the century of innovation and invention, every field has been touched by being it a transport, telecommunication, or health sector. There are multiple developments that have taken place and bought new revolution for the economy. I feel the biggest and most important development is the internet, not only it has brought phenomenal developments but also it has created a revolution in society. After the development of the internet, human life has been changed and it has a greater impact on it, the internet has presented all the global information at one portal along with creating more job opportunities. Since the advent of the internet, it has been proved to be a blessing for humankind but with a few of the disadvantages like unhealthy lifestyle and isolation. In order to delve deeper, let us examine the given questions about the most important technological development in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, let us unfurl the most important technological development that has taken place. First and foremost, as the internet is a most important technological development, it has become a global village for humans. To explain, in order to get any information, the internet is the easiest, fastest mode regardless of its location, time. Not only the internet has proven to be a time-saving option by not spending time in libraries or by reading books to get any knowledge but it also it has the feature of saving money by not exploring that particular place to get any sort of guidance and it has also put forward people of different communities closer to each other by exchanging information online. As long as the authenticity of information is concerned, it is always reliable and updated. To cite an example, the research was conducted by The University of British Columbia of Canada in June 2019 on a group of 500 students ranging between 16-18 years revealed that 93% of them gathered all the information about their new University, college and course by internet from their home in different countries.

In addition, because of the multiple job opportunities being developed online, it makes the internet a dominant technological development. To explain, not only with the help of the internet people can apply in different cities being in their hometown but also they can grab the jobs available in various countries and they can complete all the formalities hassle-free. Since the internet has been developed there is a plethora of working options online too, individuals are earning a good amount of income by online work. As there was a pandemic situation also internet helped a lot by giving an option for individuals working from home, it helped them in earning and surviving in this difficult situation. As long as youngsters are concerned apart from their regular studies, jobs, they prefer to do something online, it helps them in earning extra income. To elaborate, Mr. Rajiv Khatree the Editor in Chief of The Tribune in his editorial on Online Jobs in May 2020 issue stated that rather than working in offices for fixed working hours, young generation preferred to work online of their interest with flexible hours because of the internet being available anywhere anytime.

On the contrary, despite having multifarious benefits of the internet, there are certain drawbacks attached to it which cannot be ignored. Primarily, because of the internet people are leading an isolated and unhealthy lifestyle. To clarify, after the invention of the internet, people are so occupied with it that they do not have time for their family, friends, they sit for long hours online without even thinking about food or break and it is detrimental for their health. Since the internet gives you various options to enjoy, study that people have stopped talking to each other and they are always on the internet that is affecting their physical and mental health. Not only internet is keeping individuals busy in their own world, that they do not know what is going around them but also it is putting hazardous effects on their health, lifestyle. To exemplify, a survey was conducted by United States Census Bureau in London on July 2020 on a group of 100 individuals ranging between 20-30 years revealed that 82% of them were going through mental or physical issues because of their spending more time on the internet.

To encapsulate, it can be concluded that in spite of a few disadvantages of the internet, still, it is quintessential. As it is putting certain harmful effects on an individual but it can be overcome by its limited use and the various helpful part of the internet is much more powerful. Not only internet is helping people in getting any sort of knowledge, information at one place but also it is helping young generation to fulfill their dreams by working in various fields.