There is an increasing amount of advertising directed at children, which encourages them to buy goods such as toys and snacks. Many parents are worried that these advertisements put too much pressure on children while some advertisers claim that they provide useful information to children. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that an increment in number of adverts targeting kids, making some parents worried as they think such advertisements pressurize their children to buy new things; however, advertisers claim that these promotions provide useful information to toddlers.

On one hand, parents believe that their children get pressurized due to different adverts targeting kids. There are different reason that make them believe this. Firstly, parental concern about ads is justified. Young children lack the ability to make wise decisions. They are attracted to the colorful pictures in the advertisement and carried away by misleading information. Children cannot understand the difference between healthy food and fast food. They are attracted to the junk foods and these are detrimental for their health. For instance, a study conducted by UK health department in the year of 2018 says that 65% toddlers are suffering due to obesity as they prefer junk food rather than healthy food. Secondly, some ads show dangerous stunts. Though they provide clear warning but these stunts are being performed under the supervision of expert and advise not to try at home; however children ignore them and try to execute the same and injured themselves. Therefore, it would be wise to say that kids feel pressure due to promotions which are being targeted towards them.

On the other side, promoters state that their advertisement deliver useful information to kids. There are different reasons which make them believe this. To begin with, the advert of Colgate toothpaste, which tells us to brush our teeth twice daily, is good for children. Then there are some ads about education like Byju’s learning application, which help children to improve their academic score and learn their subjects with better illustrations. To cite an example, a survey done by Indian Education system in the year of 2010 states that due to educational application, kids are less dependent on home tuitions. Moreover, some advertisements also highlight the importance of saving water and electricity, keeping our surroundings clean and planting trees. Children are motivated by these ads and try to follow them. Thus, advertisers of such promotions say that these advertisements provide useful information to kids.

To conclude, this essay has discussed how kids feel pressurized to excessive amount of advertisements targeting towards them and how advertiser states that such promotion provide use information for toddlers. If Government can set up an authority which will be responsible to perform all the prechecks associated to advertisement then such initiate will surely help to isolate harmful promotions.