These days with advances in technology more and more people are working from home. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion.

In this ever-growing technological world where everything undergo sea of change over a period. Telecommuting, which means working from home with help of internet and telephones have become increasingly popular. This situation has both advantages and disadvantages which is discussed in below paragraphs.

The most important benefit is that it saves time and improves productivity. They don't need to waste time and money in commuting which help improving their lifestyle by exploring various hobbies. Moreover, one can have work life balance. It goes without saying that technology has given birth to ample of opportunities and access to the whole world from one corner. For instance, one of the largest private sector bank in India has given work from home facility for pregnant women.

But the disadvantages can not be overlooked as it is rightly said, " technology is a good servant but a bad master". One of the major drawback of tech savvy people is their sedentary lifestyle. This leads to various health problems in long run like obesity and blurred vision. It also reduces face to face communication and one forgets socializing. Additionally, one needs to have dedicated place at home as workstation. There is tremendous rise in e-waste due to overuse of technology and increasing dependency on same. Also, this working style is not possible where physical presence is required like fitness trainer or beautician.

All in all, I strongly believe that though human touch is necessary but continued development in technology outweighs the disadvantages.