These days free music and free films are available online. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience. (India – April 2018)

The digital era has greatly influenced the entertainment industry. Due to internet, most of the songs and movies are freely available online and I strongly believe that this is a negative development because of detrimental effects on the film industry and the lives of artists.

Firstly, the free availability of music and films on the web has saved the cost of the people. To exemplify, nowadays with the price of one movie show ticket it is possible to download two to three movies free of cost by the same price data connection provided by most mobile networks. Nevertheless, this has also given a rise to piracy by many online users. For instance, many a times some clips of or entire unreleased movies are leaked on the digital web which leads to the loss of the efforts and time of actors.

Secondly, as the number of online watchers increase, the publicity of the talented artists will also increase. To illustrate, if the musical performances of singers is available for free to hear and download, their talent and skills will be recognized and appreciated by people all over the world. Nonetheless, this will eventually reduce the audience of the live singing shows as people will learn that in the span of few days the show podcast will be uploaded on the music websites.

To recapitulate, despite of the positive aspects like cost savings and free of charge media content on the worldwide web, In my view it is a trend with many negative consequences like the dominance of the virtual web on the entertainment industry and the rise of pirated content.