These days free music and free films are available online. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience. (India – April 2018)

The digital era has greatly influenced the entertainment industry. Due to internet, most of the songs and movies are freely available online and I strongly believe that this is a negative development because of detrimental effects on the film industry and the lives of artists.

Firstly, the free availability of music and films on the web has saved the cost of the people. To exemplify, nowadays with the ticket amount of one movie show it is possible to download two to three movies free of cost by the same price data connection provided by most mobile networks. Nevertheless, this has also given a rise to piracy by many online users. For instance, many a times some clips of or entire unreleased movies are leaked on the digital web which leads to the loss of the efforts and time of actors.

Secondly, as the number of online watchers increase the revenue of telecommunication companies also increase. To illustrate, in order to watch more television shows and listen to music on the net more people buy data packs frequently and thus the business of phone networks flourish. Nonetheless, this in turn has an adverse effect on the day to day life and social development of individuals. In other words, with the uncontrolled usage of the data pack, people will be greatly addicted to the virtual world and there will be less connection and relationship building among the humans.

To recapitulate, despite of the positive aspects like cost savings and of the free of charge media content on the worldwide web, In my view it is a trend with many negative consequences like vanishing of the entertainment industry and the rise of pirated content.