These days, it seems that an increasing number of people are leaving rural areas to live in the city. Discuss some of the effects of rural depopulation (migration from the country to the city) and suggest some ways on which this trend could be reversed.

The world has never seen such a great influx of people from rural areas to urban areas since, the eighth century. In recent decades decentralization and relocation are due to the requirement (obligation) of improved quality of life, which in turn has created chaos by overpopulating the cities.

The crucial reason is the necessity to improve the quality of life because urban cities have excellent opportunities in the job world for skilled and non-skilled labors with competitive remuneration, splendid medical and educational facilities. For instance, farmers in India are under a high amount of debt for the reason that they borrow money to support their livelihood and cultivate crops, and in a high percentage of cases they lose their agrarian production to environmental disasters, such as drought or excessive rainfall or so on because of the changing climatic conditions of the earth. As a result, to meet needs, they either have to sell lands to big landlords or divert their route to urban areas where they have a fixed source of incomes enabling them to get back on their feet.

The side effects of this movement could severely be seen on the overpopulated markets and housing societies as well as congested roads with public and private vehicles. Besides, with the time a substantial negative impact will be on the job market. It is a well-accepted fact that a number of qualified graduated are far in figures then the required job vacancies. Thus, to acquire a white color job, a student needs to have a university degree with internship experience, which earlier could be got through a college degree.

To overcome the above scenarios, the government should reorganize the job market and set up few industries in the rural areas, consequently providing them with a mode of income.

To conclude, though it is true that one deems to improve their lives, even if it is to migrate from their homeland adverse migration effect on the urban area is alarming. Hence, it is the responsibility of the government to take the required measures to curb the negative impact and develop the rural areas.