These days many children spend a lot of their time playing computer games but little time doing sports. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Unlike the past, kids these days particularly tend to play computer games rather than joining sports activities. While I believe that spreading personal computers to almost every household can be the main reason, I also agree that this trend has both positive or negative developments.

To begin with, as it is almost impossible to find people who does not own a computer, children nowadays are in the position to access the Internet and computer much easier than ever. Moreover, recent explosive technological advancement has world-widely provided a high-performing computer but relatively cheap prices that everyone wants to buy. This trend has led the gaming industry to develop a various range of games, from MMORPG to FPS, to match a variety of tastes of customers, especially children. Sports activities, by contrast, often require physical demand for children before they feel a sense of enjoyment or achievement so that children often choose to play video games.

In addition, a child's development can be beneficial by playing computer games. As games provide lots of goals but limited rewards, children are willing to join the competition and maximize their imaginations to find a way of winning, and it seems to me as desirable for brain development. On the other hand, this trend can do more harm than good for children's physical development. Kids often lack enough level of immunity to various diseases and physical ability to grow healthier adults as they are isolated by sitting at a desk without exposing themselves to the outside world.

In conclusion, although playing video games has become the most popular activity among children, and it has a good impact on their developments, we should not overlook the benefits of playing sports too.