These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

There is a tendency that the growing number of unemployed husbands are adopting the role of householders. In this essay, I will consider the main reasons for it and the negative impacts this trend has on households.

Let us start with the motivations why some male spouses choose to stay jobless at home with children. The first factor is that mothers do not want to leave their lucrative jobs. Many married women with children refuse to take a maternal leave, because they occupy managerial positions with large salary, which is usually many time higher than that of their spouse. Another reason is that health impairments can hinder fathers from employment. Many men are unable to work due to their disabilities, so they take the responsibility for both the house and the nurture of children. Furthermore, fathers love spending time with their children. Many fathers also are willing to care for their children, so they usually come to an agreement with their wives to get employed alternately.

However, this phenomenon has the following negative sides. Firstly, children cannot enjoy the love of mothers. Children suffer from the absence of maternal care, which plays a significant role in early years, since fathers cannot fully offer it to them. Secondly, the long unemployment of fathers will negatively affect their career prospect. They will find it difficult to return to work, if they have not worked for a long time, as employers would think that they have lost their qualification as well as skills. Moreover, household income will be lower. The families with one bread earner will experience the shortage of money and have to save on food, until both parents go to work.

In conclusion, even though there are many causes why husbands prefer to take a role of householders, this situation also has many drawbacks to families.