These days people are living into their 90s and beyond. As a result, there is increasing concern about care for the elderly.

Do you think it is the responsibility of the family to care for their elderly members or should the government be held responsible?

There is a concern about the responsibility for the elderly. Some social workers suggest that it is the government to be obliged for this, while some medics advocate that relatives can fulfill better. This essay agrees with the idea of making relatives obligatory.

Let us start with the reasons why some social workers state that children are responsible for their parents, when they become old. The first reason is that the elderly used to take care of them before they got older. Aged members normally nurtured young ones, when they were immature, so now that they become grown-up, they should serve their parents in return. Another reason is that none can look after their relatives better than their children. People, who are not related to the family, cannot provide the same care as family members, so the best nurses are relatives. Furthermore, older people can care for their grandchildren. Grandparents commonly help employed relatives by giving parental care to their young members, which is beneficial to the whole family.

However, some doctors believe that the government should look after the aging generation. Firstly, mature members have little time for their grandparents. The current generation are usually busy with work and, consequently, cannot pay sufficient attention to their older parents, so the government should become accountable for them in providing the normal standards of life. Secondly, it can provide the timely medical aid. Family members can hardly secure therapy at home, but the authorities can supply it completely, when the elderly feel either sick or heart attack. Moreover, the retired used to contribute the economy. The state officials should take care of the retired in case children refuse to do this, because they contributed to its growth in the past.

In conclusion, although some hospital workers claim that the government should be made liable for older citizens, I think that family members should take be in charge of caring for their the aging relatives.