Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Two days ago, I read an article about the quick spread of shopping centers in Karaganda region. The author claimed that this spread drives individual entrepreneurs to cease their activity in the local market. This leads one to wonder whether this cease may have a deadly impact on society. This essay disagrees with this point of view for the following reasons.

The first reason is the poor connection between the closure of regional business and local groups of people. Apart from local companies, there are many other aspects of society that unit people into groups, such as local traditions, customs, language and history. These components of society can withstand even if local business is completely shut down. For example, in Karaganda city, even though multinational companies entered and swallowed almost all small companies in the region in 2002, regional congregations not only have survived from their entry, but also have thrived so far.

Another reason why communities can survive even if local business is annihilated by supermarkets is that the entry of large companies attracts more investment into the region. Local communities will benefit from the emergence of malls in their areas since their introduction in the region attracts more participants from the global market to invest money as well. As a result, this will bring a positive effect on local societies, since they will have more access to job places and better services.

However, some sociologists state that local societies will disappear along with the local business. The main reason for this opinion is that the end of local companies will result in a rise in unemployment. The joblessness will force many people to find jobs in other regions, leaving only a small number of people working in these malls. Despite this, supermarkets will be able to employ all jobless people in the region to deter the desire for abandoning the region. This can be achieved by involving many workers from locals to maintain large supermarkets and deliver products in time.

In conclusion, after analyzing, it is clear that although the spread of shopping malls may cause local business to terminate their activity, there is no threat to local communities because the link between business and society is negligible. In addition to the link, the appearance of supermarkets in the region may attract more investors.