These days, people work in more than one job and often change career several times during their life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, it is becoming increasingly popular to have more jobs and go into new career many times. However, some sociologists claim that this trend not only has a great deal of advantages but also many disadvantages. In this essay, I will discuss both pros and cons of this phenomenon and offer my opinion.

Let us start by looking at the benefits of having more than one job and changing a calling. One of the main positives of having more jobs is a larger income. People with more jobs tend to earn twice as much as they would if they had sole job because they work more hours a week. As a result, they can afford more things such as a house, car and more holidays overseas. One of the major advantages of altering a career is trying oneself in various fields. In other words, since they go into a new profession several times, they are more likely to find their dream job and get more job satisfaction. After considering these drawbacks, it is obvious having extra job and varying a career repeatedly can be problematic.

On the other hand, this has plenty of disadvantages. First of all, having additional jobs often leads to an excessive amount of stress. Take waiters for example. Waiters, who work in more restaurants, usually suffer from stress, since they hardly have spare time to relax and unwind stress. If they keep this way for a long period of time, they eventually get stressed out and become sick. Secondly, changing a career more times can result in lack of promotion. What I mean by this is that as they change a career too frequently, workers tend to miss out the opportunity to get promoted and therefore get a higher salary. If they stayed in single place for longer, they would move into management and have a higher income. After analyzing these benefits, it is clear that both having more than one job and changing a career is advantageous.

All things considered, even though there are a lot of positives in possessing another job and going into a new occupation repeatedly, I think that above-mentioned drawbacks easily overweigh all advantages.