Most artists earn low salaries and therefore should receive findings from the government in order for them to continue with their work.

To what extent do you agree?

Two days ago, I read an article about artists who both are low-paid. The author said that artists and in need of financial support to working further. This leads one to wonder whether governments should pay extra money to them. This essay disagrees with this point of view for the following reasons.

The first reason is that the job of artists is unprofitable for governments. Today, few people are willing to visit places of art, such as theaters, museums, exhibitions and concerts, so artists should not receive high salaries in comparison to those professions, which generate higher income to the economy. Besides their salaries, wealthy fans often give them money, cars and apartments as a form of recognition of their talents.

Another reason why governments should not pay extra money to artists is that they support more important areas. Teachers and medical workers earn as little salary as artists, but their work is more essential, since education prepares future engineers, and health care saves many lives from various diseases. If the government supported artists better, they would have to reduce the salaries of teachers and doctors.

However, some artists claim that the government should support them financially so that they could keep working in art. The reason is that financial support would help them to develope their skills. Artists occasionally can improve their skills since they take part-time jobs to support their families. However, if the government added extra pay to their salaries, they could totally immerse themselves in art and produce high-quality work in music, pictures, and stage performance. Despite this, nurturing good artists takes many years, and there is no guarantee that they will reach their goals. Thus, governments should focus on more important aspects of society, which can benefit the country and help people.

In conclusion, governments should not give an extra funding to artists, since art is not profitable and frivolous in comparison to other occupations.