Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel.

To what extent do you agree?

There is an issue about the influence of oil price on the ecology. Some ecologists suggest that boosting the gasoline price is the most effective method to improve the poor condition of the environment. This essay disagrees with their point of view.

Let us start with reasons why some ecologists state that a rise in the fuel price will bring the greatest benefit to the environment. The first reason is that the number of cars running on petrol will decline. The traffic on the roads will gradually diminish, because a growing number of drivers will be unable to purchase prohibitively costly fuel. As a result, the amount of carbon dioxide in the air will decrease significantly. Another reason is that the importance of alternative sources of energy will grow. More companies will begin to research into the environmentally friendly sources of energy, and, subsequently, they will become competitive in the energy market. Furthermore, car manufacturers will devise ways to convert traditional cars into energy-efficient one. They will also transform conventional engines into energy-efficient ones, so that driver will be save on fuel and reduce the concentration of harmful fumes in the atmosphere.

However, some scientists of global warming argue that the high cost of petrol will have insignificant effect on environmental pollution. Firstly, most of the oil companies will supply the energy market with more fuel. The higher the price for oil will become, the more areas of oil these companies will start to develop, so many investors will choose to invest in petroleum market. Petroleum producers will also hamper the development of other sources of fuel. They may create a great deal of obstacles to green-energy companies, since they will be reluctant to lose their share in the fuel industry. Moreover, the complete replacement of traditional cars will linger for long time. The majority car drivers, who are poor people, will not abandon their cars immediately for ecofriendly ones, so the improvement of air quality will stretch for many years.

In conclusion, although some ecologists advocate that expensive petroleum will be the best solution to deal with the polluted ecology, I think that it will only course the minimum positive impact on it for the above mentioned reasons.