What are the pros and cons for children of watching television?

Nowadays, the number of children sticking to TV is increasing dramatically. However, some teachers claim that this growing trend not only has a great deal of advantages but also many disadvantages. In this essay, I will discuss both pros and cons of this phenomenon and offer my opinion.

Let us start by looking at the benefits of children viewing television. One of the main positives of this is that it usually boosts imagination. Take cartoons for example. They tend to enrich fantasy in youngsters because they are composed of colorful images and vivid pictures. Another major advantage is that it can supplement traditional form of education. In other words, if pupils watch documentaries about wildlife, for instance, then they can gain extra knowledge in addition to what they are taught in biology and geography classes at school.

On the other hand, watching TV by young people has plenty of disadvantages. First of all, it often leads to distraction from socializing. Kids barely have spare time to play with other children since they normally become addicted to TV. As a result, they are more likely to become less prepared for adulthood and interaction in society. Secondly, it usually deteriorates eyesight. As growing population spend in front of TV screen all day long, their eyes can become dry and, as a consequence, suffer from inactivity in movement. If they did something else every 15 minutes to exercise their eyes, the majority of children, who have eye problems, would have a better eye vision and would not have to wear glasses on a regular basis.

All things considered, even though there are plenty of problems in relation to children watching TV, I think that above-mentioned benefits easily overweigh the drawbacks.