These days, people work in more than one job,and often change career several times during their life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

working in a several occupations is a common trend among most of workers nowadays. Since many of them are usually changing their jobs several times in their professional career. however, this alteration like anything has a positive and negative impact on career. this essay will explore the benefits and drawbacks on shifting various jobs every now and then.

Firstly, no doubt that dealing with many different individuals in plenty of companies will boost people’s experience. For instance, job applicants who has divers work experience form various firms are usually being hired because of their acquired skills as well as the employer will find them very fit to work in any department. Secondly, it’s irrefutable that most of workers are usually looking for more financial benefits, so they shift into another job to get higher wages. For example, the salary of the most local companies in Saudi Arabia are too low, therefore employees are always seeking for better benefits in multinational companies as they provide a higher salaries. Finally, some employees are working in very big companies, where the promotion is extremely challengeable. GE as an example, is one of the top three companies worldwide. More than 20,000 employees are working there. however, the chance of getting promotion is hard as the higher positions vacancies are not matching the number of GE’s members. therefore, most of workers resort to find another middle companies where the promotion is applicable.

On the the other hand, changing career has some disadvantages. On the foremost, the extremely low in stability. To illustrate, some employees might stay for a long time in one company. they might established a tight relationship with their colleagues, and know well about their job responsibilities. When they move into other companies, which know nothing about it, will really hurt their career because they probably not being as good as they were in previous organizations or might will not have as same recognition and friendly co-workers that they had. then, extra pressure will be added in terms of building a trust. For example, most of new employees, even in very senior level, work very hard at least in the first 3 months in order to establish a good image on their performance. this in fact , might impact on their life work balance as they will consume most of their times in the work.

In conclusion, having a several professions in one career is something very debatable as it has a positive and negative effects.