Today, many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and less time on sports. Why? Is it a positive or a negative development?

Since the start of the 21st century, technology development has seen significant progress which leads to many inventions, especially in computer technology. Thus, access to computers has been made easier for many people, including children, that create a new trend: children spend a big chunk of their time being inside the house, playing video games, instead of going out to enjoy physical activities. In my view, this trend has created a negative impact on future generations.

The main reason for this phenomenon is the rapid evolution of the gaming industry: today games’ graphic is more details and realistic, and the gameplay has evolved to a level never seen before. For example, GTA 5, a game about lifestyle in an imagination city, has a great graphic and huge game environment that players could roam around doing almost anything they want has drawn a huge number of players. The lure of computer games is just too much to resist for most children and playing video games has eaten all their time. Children simply refuse to go out.

In addition, access to some sports has proved to be more difficult than play video games. For instance, a game of tennis required players to pay for racquets, clothes, tennis court that could add up to a big amount of money. It’s also difficult to arrange a simple pickup game for kids, especially during this pandemic time. This encourages children to stay home, and without any other things to do, they play computer games.

Spending too much time hook up to a computer leads to many problems for young children. For one, seeing too much screen time is the number one reason for vision defect such as short-sighted. Another problem with video games is that they required little to none physical effort, children do not active for a long time may cause obesity or weak bone structure. And the most dangerous issue may do with mentality, video games historically proved to be related to aggressive behaviour or worse, depression.

In conclusion, spending too much time on computer games and not doing enough sport is a bad thing, both mentally and physically. Parents with young children need to pay more attention to their child’s screen time and encourage them to go out more. For their better future.