Today, more and more students decide to move to a different country for higher studies.Do you think that the benefits of this outweighs the problems?

In the modern era, there is an increasing trend amongst learners to pursue a university education in a foreign country. With the ease of traveling and fewer visa restrictions, students prefer to take admissions in one of the leading universities of the world irrespective of their location. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this trend and show that, indeed, perks of studying in an overseas university is superior to studying in the home country.

There are a number of advantages that learners get during the course of their educational journey in a foreign country. Firstly, they get an opportunity to study in ultra-modern university, having highly skilled professors and state of the art education equipment, which gives them a competitive advantage in their career ahead. A good example of this is that many renowned companies, especially fortune 100 companies, recruit graduates of specific universities due to increased trust in the quality of education. Secondly, group assignment and projects are an essential part of higher education and provide a platform for students to work with peers who belong to different cultures and nationalities. Such exposure helps students to broaden their mental outlook and enhances their team building skills.

There are obvious disadvantages if this trend would continue to proliferate in the youth. Many students, after graduation, settle in the same country where they study because they get plenty of job prospects with handsome compensations. As a result, the home country loses a highly skilled workforce that could have supported the local economy. Moreover, parents find it difficult to afford the exorbitant fees of the overseas university; they often end-up borrowing the money from banks in order to provide quality education to their offspring. If the debt is borrowed without any repayment plan, it can result in imprisonment or disposal of personal assets to pay-off the loan.

In conclusion, an overseas qualification not only opens up new avenues in terms of employment but also polishes the team building skills of the student. While there are certain limitations to attain a foreign degree, in my view, the advantages clearly outweigh the disadvantages.