Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic? What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

There is no doubt that adventure tourism is leading the race when it comes to vacation choices of crowds ranging from youth to senior citizens. Masses are losing interest in planning trips to hill stations, beaches which used to occupy the top spot in everyone's bucketlist. Now-a-days, tourists started taking interests in places that are rarely explored by regular people. Such choices come with their own advantages and disadvantages which I will be discussing in this essay.

Starting with benefits of opting for destinations that offer extreme conditions to survive, it goes back to the tourists' perspective of making every second of the journey count. Satisfaction such tours offer need more than words to describe the experiences. For instance, places like Antarctica where months pass without any sunlight sound very interesting and when one gets a privilege to experience such opportunities, it offers immense joy. Secondly, the challenges involved in sustaining such extreme weather conditions give an adrenaline rush to the participants and hence become cherishable moments of their life.

While it is established that there are benefits that such tourism offers, there are also challenges that could cost one's life when taking a different path from the usual. Majorly, one needs to be practical and aware of their own medical conditions to determine whether they are in a position to attempt such endeavours. There had been incidents where tourists who failed to do this check and ended up in more critical situations that put them in intensive medical care units. Another disadvantage is lack of proper amenities in such extreme conditioned areas. It is evident that the climate in such places is not suitable for human survival because of which there are limited options for accommodation, medical facilities and so on.

To summarise, although places that have tough conditions might seem to be exciting and thrilling to explore, tourists need to exercise caution and make a better judgement based on their own limitations. The aim of any vacation is to experience something different from humdrum routine and enjoy life without stress so vacations itself should not become stressful. Everyone needs to explore options based on their own interests and what matters to them in their lives.