Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Nowadays people are curious to travel around the world. It is said in these days Sahara and Antarctic are increasingly popular tourist destinations despite the conditions. Visiting such places can be materialistically beneficial for these countries although there are might be serious problems that massive tourism can cause.

Sahara and Antarctic are offering a pristine and sacred environment that makes people curiously travel to these countries. Sahara desert is so different from the surrounding world. It exposes people mind about a desert, an enormous sand dunes and camels they can ride with. People are desperate to try something new and this is why it makes them travel there. In Antarctic people can spend lots of money to see Antarctic penguins, cruise around and enjoy the winter wonderland there. Both countries benefit materialistically which makes them rely on tourism. For example, relying on BBC tourism is supporting the native people and keeping Antarctic funded and its preservation.

Although both of these countries are extremely sensitive to human activity. Massive tourism in Antarctica has ruined the penguins routine as people leave their footprints and throw rubbish in nature. Disrespectful and careless actions are changing these untouched countries in a negative way. In Sahara people are stepping on the plants that are under nature protection which will affect all the food chain and environment. The government should take action and limit the amount of tourism in both areas. According to the BBC, there has been an argumentation about banning tourism from Antarctica due to decreasing breeding from penguins.

In conclusion, both countries are unique with its untouched nature, they offer a lot of unseen animal species and plants. Unfortunately, mass tourism is ruining the beauty and people act disrespectfully.