Today more people are overweight than ever before.

What in your opinion are the primary causes of this?

What measures can be taken to overcome this epidemic?

Obesity can be described as the condition in which a person has an increased amount of body weight in accordance with his height and age. In the contemporary world of advanced technology, obesity is a burgeoning problem. This essay shall devel into the widespread causes of obesity and practically possible remedies to alleviate it.

The primary reason for obesity is junk food and unhealthy eating habits. Junk food is slowly eating away the health of today's people; the name itself suggests how harmful it is for our body. To commence with, people are attracted to junk food, which is rich in carbohydrate, fat, cholesterol, sugar, salt and added preservatives. Given the choice of steamed vegetable vs pizza; salads vs chips; or fruit vs candy , most of the people will prefer the latter, simply because they are very appealing to our tongue. Also, the mushrooming growth of fast food outlets have made it easily available and affordable. By contrast, healthy food is costly and not easily food. To add to it, our minds our bombarded with advertisements and offers like buy 1 get 1 free or 30% off.

The second main reason for the prevalence of obesity is sedentary lifestyle due to fast paced world. With work commitments of 14hours a day, insecurities, target based compensation, cut throat competition, hire and fire culture and excessive availablity of employees, people are glued to office desk. Consequently, their health is affected due to no physical activities. It is apt to mention here that materialism in the capitalist world is making man unhealthy. Moreover, both adults and children are stick to screen whether it be television, smartphones, i-pads, or computer. As a result of which we have become couch potatoes.

Last and most important people do not have the idea that obesity is not just one disease but a constellation of diseases that brings diabetes, hypertension and cardiovascular problems with it.

A lot of measures can be taken by the individual themselves and the government to overcome this epidemic. Firstly, people should remember if time is money then health is wealth. People should change their attitude todays health and adopt a healthy lifestlye, which include well-balanced diet and physical activities. As far as the government is concerned, it should stop focussing on Gross National Product Index and shift its attention towards Gross National Happiness Index, which include sustainable development, health and happiness, education and environmental protection. In addtion to this, sports club and well equipped gym in propriqunity of residential arear should be made. Moreover, with the help of media, spread awareness of the importance of exercise and proper diet. Also, make stringent law against the use of harmful preservatives in packed food items and sweeping taxes on junk food to reduce its intake

To conclude, the joint efforts of the people and the government will help us to win the war against the deterioting health of the nation.