Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers.

Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the salad days of the millennium, society is polarized into two groups almost equally regarding the notion that importing food from foreign country is not beneficial for environment as well as for economic growth of local farmers. The following paragraphs would shed some light on both the approaches of the argument before making a final note.

To begin with import of food this may increases the business with other nations, and opens new ways of exposure in the international market. But it impacts the financial growth of local farmers which is a major drawback. Farmers play a vital role in any country and hence their well-being and economic growth should also be considered before making any such international business deals. For instance, in recent past in India many farmers committed suicide because of their financial crisis. These situations can be avoided if local farmers profit margins are considered.

Secondly, eatable products which get imported are mostly of premium quality but not organic as well as treated with chemicals to make it long lasting where as if we consume the food products from local farmers they will most likely be organic and more healthier. As it takes time to transport food products from one end of the world to the another end therefore chemicals are used on them, where as this is not needed if we consume the local organic products.

Lastly, advantage of transported food is that we can get a variety of products which might not available in out country, plus availability in all season. Although behind this a huge amount of natural resources are being consumed to make this possible. Hence, we are paying a higher cost for this.

After noting all the points I strongly believe that imported food is a problem for any nation until they are not able to produce it themselves. Otherwise this is the thing which can be minimized in order to maintain a better future for farmer citizens and environmental surroundings.