Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, international trade has become an indispensable part of many countries. While a handful of people believe that it would be advantageous for the nation's environment and economy if people eat food that is locally produced, this essay will explain why i believe that the drawbacks of introduced food are outweighed by its benefits when compared to vegetables and fruits cultivated by local farmers.

Considering firstly the positives of international food, the important one is that it renders several options for the domestic people to choose from the vast array of fruits and greens. This is because global trade generally requires importing of various new types of foods, which can not be grown inhouse. As a result, the transnational food chain enables locals to enjoy numerous new vegetables and grains on day to day basis. For example, In the past, Indian citizens hardly knew about a fruit 'Kiwi' which is from NewZealand, is now often present on shelves of every supermarket. Furthermore, this import\export partnership helps different nations to form a strong bond with each other, which helps in maintaining peace and unity globally.

However, the main disadvantage of consuming imported food is that these are mostly expensive and harmful to our environment. With regard to the former, as the movement of these edibles involves lots of transportation and manpower, so the usual cost for such fruits and vegetables is often high. As for the latter, the use of multitudinous transport facilities means tremendous use of fossil fuels and burning toxic gases and leaving them into the environment. For example, an aeroplane normally burns 1000 tonnes of crude oil to travel up to 100 Kilometres and apparently, a major movement of these goods is done through air-travel. Conversely, locally conceived sustenance would be environmentally friendly.

In conclusion, i think that the shortcomings of being over-priced and environmental damage that come with the imported food outstripped by it perks of diverse food alternatives and tranquil relationship with other nations, in comparison to the native food.