Today tourism is one of the world’s biggest industries and many poorer countries are depending more and more on tourism for their economy.

What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of having a large number of tourists visiting a country?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nature abundance is the gift given by the god. Many of the countries have been sustaining their economy on tourism industry, because of it’s natural aesthetics. Today, many of the developing countries are depending solely on tourism sector. This industry has more advantages over disadvantages, particularly for poorer nations.

It is irrefutable that tourists bring prosperity in terms of money not only to the local businessmen but also for the government. For instance, Thailand is the country where most of the businesses are depending on the influx of tourists. Moreover, the Thai government also gathers decent currency by providing comprehensive services to the tourist such as public toilets, museum fees, and via the toll taxes. Secondly, Thai localites are also learning different cultures and technologies around the world which help them to live high standard life. For instance, Most taxi drivers are using the Uber application which facilitates them to pick their potential customers at the arrival itself. Additionally, Some of the citizens also influenced by western cultures, which taught them how to increase outer demeanor through the western fashions.

There are negligible dark sides of the tourism industry like some of the non-social being would hurt the emotions of the countrymen’s by performing malice activities. To exemplify, Malaysian society is certainly surprised by several anti-social activities performed by the foreigners like late night parties, unbearable behaviour of the tourists to their bartenders. Secondly, a large inflow of the foreigners can create chaotic condition at particular place. For example, Bali is the country where most people want to visit in the spring season so it is nearly impossible for the government as well as for the local businessmen to provide accurate services. Due to, this most tourists would not prefer to visit the place next time in their lifespan.

To conclude, I can say that by contemplating both the pros and cons of the tourism industry. If tourism is the single source to strengthen the nation’s economy then all the unfavourable conditions would be pardonable.