Today, TV channels broadcast man’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal showtime for women’s sport and men’s sport?

It is undoubted true that TV programs do not present an equitable amount of showtime for women’s and men’s sports. While many people tend to oppose this trend, I personally think it’s a good idea to broadcast man’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows.

There are several reasons for this editable trend. Firstly, as the audience seem to show a greater preference for sports matches played by males, multimedia corporations take advantage of this to boost their viewers and ratings by giving more coverage of male sport events. Therefore, huge financial gain can be achieved. Secondly,because of physical demand, performances of women in athletic competitions in considered as less exciting than their male counterparts’ performances.

People who support the idea of equal coverage of male and female athletes on TV might think that this would empower the women’s role in sports and discourage gender discrimination. They assumed that it would arouse public attention about women’s sports and thereby decreasing the gap between women’s and men’s sports. However, it’s a fact that men’s sports still play an important. A research have shown that performances of women on football is considered to be less exciting than men’s football matches by women themselves, let alone men. Therefore, if one believes that a quantitve change in showtime might promote gender equality in sports, I think they are wrong.

In conclusion, while there are many obvious reasons for the inequality in the showtime of men’s and women’s sports events I think it won’t a wise decision to oppose this trend.