Young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. Do you agree or disagree?

Juvenile delinquencies are irrefutably on the rise. While some people argue that the crime-commited youngsters should serve penalties like adults, others tend to oppose this idea. I, to some extent, favour with the latter.

On the one hand, it is undoubted that treating youngsters same like the aldults who commit crimes will act as a deterrent to many crimes and all the dangerous crime should be solved by heavy punishment no matter what who convicts. Moreover, when the young wrongdoers receive lenient sentences as compared to adults-offenders, they might not acknowledge the adverse consequences of their unlawful behaviours and thus maybe re-offend and thereby put the life of many innocent citizens in jeopardy and pose a threat to the society as a whole.

On the other hand, I am far more convinced that juvenile criminals are treated in a different way compared to mature ones.The young are not sufficiently educated or sometimes lack of childrearing or parental guides which means that it is unjustified for them to serve harsh penalties as adults. Futhermore, I always believe that purpose of any law-makers are to educate the criminals, not to punish them. So why don’t we use more proper ways to re-educate them like doing unpaid community services instead of putting them in sentences? Besides, forcing youngsters to serve punishment too early means we are dimnishing opportunities in their career path and this, evenly, will ruin their life in the future.

In conclusion, while accepting that treating young wrongders same like matures one will reduce the crimminals, I belive that there are many proper ways for the government to do with the juvenile deliquencies.