Young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different views concerning the question of how to tackle juvenile severe crimes. While there are some valid arguments opposing immature offenders should be punished with the same penalties as mature offenders, I still hold the belief that the level of penalties should be considered depending on the age.

On the one hand, it is believed that all serious crimes should be received heavy punishments due to the fact today's crime rates are witnessing an upward trend in every aspect of life, posing a great threat to life’s safety. Even though, the phenomenon seems becoming worse and worse among the youth because juvenile delinquency is an alarming issue these days. Therefore, heavy punishments need to be taken into consideration as deterrent effects in order to educate other teenagers. Furthermore, with lighter punishment, they may not have a full perception of unlawful behaviors, leading to unacknowledge of such illegal activities in comparison to adult crimes. Consequently, they will re-offend, and this may put a risk to the life of innocent people, far beyond society as a whole.

On the other hand, I am very much convinced that we should treat juvenile criminals in distinctive ways compared to adult ones. The first reason springs from the youth experiencing a development period, thereby not having a holistic cognition so that they may not distinguish clearly right and wrong behavior. Unless they are served a great education, they will be conducive to committing illegal behavior, influencing their future life. The second reason lies in that although the prospect of technological advancement creates more opportunities for them to have access to a wealth sources of information, it spontaneously shows improper documentation, violent action films for example. As a result, some children break the law just because they mimic the character’s actions through movies. In addition, there are other useful forms of punishment. For instance, they can be sent to rehabilitation centers for educational purposes. Another method is forcing them to engage in unpaid work at the community centers. These approaches not only wake them up but also help them make contributions to local communities.

In conclusion, though there are practical reasons to support equal punishments for all ages, this alternation would be unfair to young people. Courts should consider comprehensive factors before selecting an appropriate punishment.