Topic: Fast food is now universally in most countries and is becoming increasingly popular. Some feel that this is a positive trend while others not.

What is your opinion on this?

It is true that the past 50 years have seen a substantial growth in the popularity of fast food. While it is of paramount importance to many people, especially people on a tight budget, I tend to argue that it has a more negative effect on people than positive one.

On the one hand, there are several advantages of this kind of junk food. Firstly, it is undeniable that fast food is a top choice for those who have a heavy workload. They usually do not have time to whip up their meals. Thus, it is more convenient for them to grab fast food and consume it during break time without investing much time in preparing ingredients. The second reason is that food such as hamburgers, fried chicken, and French fries are considered reasonably priced dishes for those living on breadline. Thanks to the advanced technology, fast food chain now can generate mass products more rapidly and inexpensive than manually cooking, which leads to the affordability for everyone.

On the other hand, I would argue that the above benefits are negated by a serious problem. The single issue is that fast food has a detrimental impact on our health. A vast amount of fat and salt used in producing fast food may be responsible for some fatal diseases such as high blood pressure, obesity, and diabetes. In spite of its positive influence on people's lifestyle, the cost and inconvenience of treating these ailments it causes to later life are significant. In other words, while fast food is beneficial in short time, its long-term effects are generally deleterious.

By the way of conclusion, I hold the view that fast food will become more popular as the pace of life. However, we should be aware of its disadvantages to have a more healthy diet.