People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent you or disagree?

It is argued that when residing their home, new residents should comply with the host country’s traditions and customs. Personally, I completely agree with this opinion for several reasons below.

On the one hand, new immigrants who adapt to the local regulation of the host country may reap many benefits for themselves . Firstly, local people might easily accept newcomers who share the common belief and etiquette with them . When long-term dwellers find the similarities and connection with the new residents, it may not be difficult for the new ones to create good relationships in society. Secondly, people coming to a new country tend to have a comfortable life and avoid social isolation if they enjoy/ follow the traditions there. For example, participating in festivals or special occasions in new nations might make new dwellers feel a sense of belonging to the community. Thus, when they can blend into the local environment, their lives tend to become more lively and energetically.

On the other hand, there might be a number of problems that new immigrants have to encounter if they do not conform to the norms of social behavior in the host country . The first issue is that the non-compliance with those rules may cause difficulties for newcomers in working with other people. In fact, there are many common ideas and opinions that people in the community all agree with. However, if the new residents reject the popular belief, this might lead to the misunderstanding and conflicts between both sides and even no agreement and cooperation. This is also the situation no one expects in the workplace as well as in the neighborhood. Another problem is that some actions will be regarded as illegal in the host country and are likely to make the community angry. For example, a foreigner who falls fouls of the local transportation law might be considered an ill-mannered citizen on the road and end up being fined.

In conclusion, I hold the view that it is essential for new residents to follow the traditions and habits in the host country in order to live in harmony with the locals.