Trying to save endangered animal species from extinction is a waste of valuable resources. Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether or not we should strive to protect wild species on the verge of extinction is definitely controversial. In spite of many arguments of some people that people will squander various resources for no useful purpose when saving wildlife, it is my personal belief that we should take initiatives to preserve them for the sake of ourselves.

First of all, it is undeniable that animal species have played a vital role in maintaining the balance of the ecosystem. A natural environment is a place where numerous plants and animals depend on each other for existence. The disappearance of any species might have a negative impact on the whole flora and fauna. It may result in breaking the food chain and altering the habitat where people also dwell in. For example, many wild animals kill rats and protect farmers’ crops from being destroyed by those harmful preys. The extinction of predator animals might allow rats to reproduce uncontrollably and even lead to outbreaks of plague.

Another justification is that all the plants and living creatures have incalculable intrinsic value. Even if endangered species do not have any practical use, they should be preserved nevertheless. The reason is that the destruction of forest caused by humans has recently posed a threat to natural inhabitants. Our severe damage to the environment has resulted in a reduction in the number of rare species all over the world. Thus, we should make every possible effort to compensate for the risks suffered by animals on the brink of disappearance.

In conclusion, I firmly hold the view that it would be human responsibilities to protect natural animals from dying out due to their benefits to the global environment.