Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities.

What are the causes?

Suggest some measures to reduce traffic in big cities

Traffic congestion is one of the acutest issues that many megacities are coping with today. This essay will discuss both reasons and some methods to mitigate this problem.

To begin with, population growth is the first cause. To be more specific, the population is constantly increasing and settlement in big cities is the best choice for them due to high employment opportunities. Thus, the streets are full of people and traffic which leads to basic mobility problems. In addition, the pervasiveness of private vehicles is another explanation. In other words, the majority of people prefer to use their own vehicles instead of public transportation which results in heavy traffic loads. Take Hanoi capital for example, its transport infrastructure usually has to suffer from gridlock especially in the rushing hours owing to the number of owned transport means such as motorbikes and cars. In conclusion, this problem will continue happening if population and personal vehicles keep rising.

One of the most promising solutions to minimize this issue is enhancing the citizens' awareness. In more detail, introducing and obeying the population policy should be applied, residents need to be propagandized about effects of traffic congestion and measures to curb it as well. Furthermore, congestion pricing and flexitime implementation should be carried out. To explain, taxes can be enforced on the vehicles at certain times of day or on the effects on the environment. If the passengers have to pay taxes, they will be encouraged to use public transports. Also, implementing flexitime is a method to ease rush hour traffic which lets employees travel to and from work at suitable times to avoid the rush hour.

To sum up, since the jam is occurring in many cities all over the world, essential steps need to be taken and maintained to improve this problem.