Traffic congestion is a serious problem in many countries around the world. Describe the situation in your home country and suggest some solutions.

As cities continue to grow, especially in developing countries, the traffic on their streets are increasingly becoming congested. While in many cases situation is so severe that traffic often brings everything to standstill. This essay will discuss the causes of traffic congestion including increasing number of vehicles on the roads and poor infrastructure. This essay will also suggests the solutions to these problems including using mass transit option and building better infrastructure.

One of the major reason for traffic congestion is increasing number of vehicles on the streets. People are using cars even for a shorter distance adding traffic issues for the commuters because of their convenience and their affordability of owning a car. For example, recent survey conducted by a reputed body revealed that the traffic issues are increasing with increasing number of cars on the streets. Another contributing factor for traffic congestion is poor road infrastructure. With the increasing number of vehicles, the existing road infrastructure is not developed enough to cope up current transit requirements. For instance, in cities like Mumbai which is constantly growing but its infrastructure is not able to cope up the demand of its transit need. In short, upward trend of number of cars on streets and poor infrastructure cause severe issues such as traffic jams.

However, there are various solutions which can help us to tackle these problems. Firstly, the government must encourage the commuters to use public transport by providing better deal to them while using these mass transit options. For example, in cities like Mumbai the central government has reduced metro fare to encourage public using metro transit option. In other words, better infrastructure and mass transit options are the best way to tackle traffic related problems. Secondly, the existing roads needs to be widen to increase the number of lanes. More and more flyovers to be constructed to give alternative route for vehicles.For example, in UAE the government has not only constructed six lane road everywhere but also constructed multi-level flyovers to overcome the traffic issues.

In conclusion, with the rapid development of cities particularly in developing countries, traffic congestion is one the major concern faced by them. This essay discussed the causes of traffic issues such as increasing number of vehicles and poor infrastructure. This essay also suggested that the solution to this problem is using mass transit options and building better infrastructure.