Trying to save endangered animal species from extinction is a waste of valuable resources.
Do you agree or disagree?
The issue of whether we should attempt to save endangered species from
extinction or not is certainly a contentious one. Despite the arguments of some
people that such animals serve no useful purpose and should be allowed to die
out just as many others ( including the dinosaurs ) have in the past, it is my
personal belief that thy should in fact be preserved. Tow of the principal reasons
for this are as follows.
Firstly, it is vital that we appreciate the importance of endangered species on
maintaining the balance of nature. Ecosystems are delicate arrangements where
plants and animals all depend on each other for survival. The disappearance or
introduction of any animal species disrupts the balance and negatively impacts
upon other plants and animals by breaking the food chain and altering the
habitat in which they live. Such imbalances frequently returns to haunt us in
unexpected ways. Just as rabbits that were introduced to Australia soon after
European settlement now compete with native species for food and destroy
farmer’s crops, the extinction of a predator can cause plagues by following its
prey to multiply unchecked. Therefore, since ecological change constitutes a
potential risk to us and our environment, it is clearly in our own interest to
protect endangered species.
Yet, perhaps the strongest argument in favour of preserving endangered species
is that all life has intrinsic value; even if endangered species are not useful to us
in any practical way they should be preserved nevertheless. Further, given that
humans are responsible for destroying the natural habitat of many endangered
animals, we should make every possible effort to save them.
In conclusion, i once again restate any view that saving endangered species is
worthwhile. Not only do they help to maintain balance of nature, but they also
have value in and if themselves.