University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, many third level education require students to choose specialized subject for their studies, while some people argue that this is faulty approach. In their view, educational institutes should encourage students to study variety of subjects. In my opinion this approach will help students in the broader way and also help society. This essay will discuss about the same.

Universities should promote all subjects and explain how pupils can improve their career prospects by learning various subjects. If all the youth take up the same course then there will be bottleneck and increase in the unemployment rate. Inculcating various skills would help learners to take up other jobs as well. For instance, in a survey, 26% of the adolescence in India were able to find the job after university based on their vocational subjects.

Additionally, when students learn bit of different domains instead of focusing on one subject, they would be able to help in the needs of the society, which in turn would help the growth of the economy. To illustrate, the statistics by The Times newspaper in 2015 showed that more than 50% of the graduates excel in their field and was able to help in the improvement of the society based on various subjects they studied by doing some research work or creative awareness, which has seen rise in the economy in the same year.

To conclude, the subjects that students learn should not only support their individual growth but also help the development f the nation. As a result tertiary education should promote all subjects instead of a handful of prestigious subjects for the enhancement of the society.