University students focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Higher education has become prominent these days and majorly the college students are required to study a single subject in which they want to achieve expertise. However, there are many, including me, who are of the strong view that a variety of subjects should be taught at university level in amalgamation with their interested subject. The reasons of the same are discussed in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, by encouraging the college students to study various subjects will not only enhance their knowledge base but also will prove beneficial in their future course of life. It will indeed breakdown the monotony of studying the same subject through certain years and instead will add on to their interest level. Apart from that, advanced understanding of certain subjects like communication, information and technology are required to prove competitive in this era. The same cannot be equipped at school level so, adding such diverse subjects with their own interest area may prove to be very beneficial.

Additionally, there are events when students out of any pressure or motivation choose a university subject which they find very dull while they are actually a part of it. Since changing the same at a later stage may waste their time and money they choose to accept and later realise to be having a bad career. Such things can be avoided as a huge spectrum of subjects will provide them with a platform to have a back-up plan for their future life.

In recapitulation, though having a curriculum equipped with many subjects may add to the burden of universities and students but when a broader perspective is considered learning other subjects in the higher level studies turns out to be an ideal option.