University is the foundation of student’s career path. Most of the students prefer to choose one specialized subject so that they can easily enter to the specific job market after being graduated. However this thought may affect when the demand in the specialized job category is competitive. For example, in India, most of the students focus on Computer engineering as their specialist subject. As a result of that, thousands of IT professionals coming out from the university as graduates and searching for IT related jobs in the country. So the demand for IT section gets very competitive and there are a lot of IT graduates who are unemployed and still searching for jobs.

Students who prefer to study a range of other subjects while focusing on one specialized subject may not fall in to the same category as of IT graduates in India. They are able to find some alternative career paths when their specialized stream is competitive in the job field. Having an alternative job is way better than being unemployed.

Moreover, studying a range of other subjects such as sport, art, management etc. will encourage student’s psychological well-being. Some university students drop their university studies in the middle due to the stress and anxiety. This may be the result of focusing one particular subject and less freedom. Studying a sport related subject in the university may help him out his stress and anxiety. A friend of mine, who was studying Engineering stream in the university has chosen a Music subject during his 3rd semester. This subject was helped him a lot to reduce the stress and focus positively on his engineering studies. He was finally graduated with a 1st class honored degree.

As per my point of view, it is very important to encourage students to choose a range of subjects in the university rather focusing on one specialist subject. This may lead student to overcome the stress and anxiety during his studies in the university as well as to find an alternative job when the specialized job sector is highly competitive.